Kodagu is a hilly district of Karnataka popularly called as Coorg. This hills region is a part of Western Ghat and it covers an area of 4102 sq. Km. Located about 257 km away from state capital, Bangalore. Madikeri is the main town of Coorg and it also serve as the district headquarters. Other major cities of the Kodagu are Virajpet, Kushalanagara and Somwarpet. Coorg District is divided into the three talukas namely Madikeri, Virajpet and Somwarpet.

Coorg District is mostly rural and its economy mainly depends on agriculture, plantations, forestry and Tourism. This region is famous for the productions of coffee and it play a vital role of district economy. Today, tourism related businesses are also other major sources of income by the natives. Coorg is a lovely hill sation for the travellers where you will find several beautiful waterfalls, Tea & Coffee estates, Wildlife, Mountain ranges and lovely site scenes including lots of religious places.

Climatic characteristics of coorg remain pleasant throughout the year, specially in summer. Average temp of summer (March to mid-June)is 26 oC. Average annual rainfalls of the district including Monsoons (mid-June to September) are about 310 cm. And the winter (late-November to February) is quite cold when average temperatures stay around 15oC. Some upper hilly region it may be below 0oC in winter.